Identity Crisis

31Dec07

It’s almost time to say goodbye to 2007 and open our arms to welcome in 2008.  I thought of a few things I’d like to write about to close the year, but then figured I’d just make a video with my new handy dandy camera.  This isn’t a sign that DemoGirl is going to turn into more of a video blog.  No sir.  This is still a screencast blog.  It’s just fun to do different things every once in a while and I wanted to give you something very important to think about tonight as you’re chasing Jager Bombs with bottles of cheap champagne.  Happy New Year and I hope you and your families all have a safe, healthy, and prosperous ’08.



17 Responses to “Identity Crisis”

  1. 1 Jason

    You’re just a doll Molly!
    No witty title, that’s it. =)

  2. You’re a screencaster, Molly. And if I may say so, one of the best. You have a wonderful voice; tone timber and cadence. Blogger? More than that.

  3. @ Jason and CT – Thank you so much! But Jason, I don’t know about calling myself a doll in professional situations. It might sound strange. All the best in ’08!

  4. 4 Gert Jan van Harten

    Hey,

    your an attractive woman with an professional attitude and a great voice, seriously, I’m a voice actor and I envy you, but I would skip a professional acting carreer 😉

    Gert Jan

  5. Molly,

    Happy New Year. What a refreshing change of pace with the video post and question.
    I agree that there needs to be a new term/label for what you and others do when it comes to screencasting! Here are some thoughts.

    Blaster: Blogger that is also a screencaster.

    BroadCaster: a female that does screencasts..but that sounds sexist and piggish…so scrap that, ok? 😉

    Here’s my favorite…
    DemoGrapher: One who blogs and screencasts. Just like Photographer.
    I think this could become the defacto term. What do you think?

    Update: I did a search and found this definition:
    http://www.thefreedictionary.com/demographer

    Still… words can have multiple meanings…right?
    Perhaps use a hyphen to make it obviously different: Demo-Grapher?

    What about DemoCaster?
    ScreenCaster kind of says it all too… NetCaster or WebCaster?

    BlogCaster?

    Whatever the term, you’re the best. Here’s to many more screencasts in 2008!

    Your friend,
    Pai

  6. 6 Paisano

    Me again. another idea

    Screenographer…
    there is software called screenOgraphy
    http://www.verticalmoon.com/products/screenography/screenography.htm
    but there is no official word in dictionaries…. yet. 🙂

    pai

  7. Wow! Thanks for all the great suggestions, Pai. I think I like Blaster the best so far. It sounds like someone that would carry a flamethrower.

  8. 8 Jason

    No doll as a professional title? So should I take “God’s Gift” off my business card??? ; )

  9. @ Jason – You have that on your business cards too?! Maybe I’ll run into you sometime at that store that sells really big hats…

  10. @ Gert – Definitely not looking for an acting career. The sad thing is that I wasn’t acting…I really am that awkward and dorky in real life! Sad, but true.

  11. 11 Jason

    =)
    BTW Blaster is definitely a cool title. Although being a common word it may lose it’s effectiveness. If you followed the same format as blog (web+log) you would come up with nCaster.

  12. 12 Charlie

    Hi Molly, you need some pictures on the wall 🙂 I Googled “DemoBlog” and didn’t find much on it. What you do are Demo’s and you blog about them? By the Way, you didn’t seem dorky on your video. Maybe a little nervous? I couldn’t sit here and make a video of myself, it would be very corny. Thanks for the great site. I have found many interesting sites you have screencasted. Keep up the good work and I hope this pays off some day for you.

    Happy New Year.

    Charlie

  13. I like BlogCaster.
    The kids love watching this video of Aunt Molz!

    -Mo

  14. Here’s more

    Castologist

    Castoholic – for those who can’t stop screencasting!

    OK…here it is…. drum roll please….

    Merging Casting with Blogger…

    Clogger!
    🙂

  15. 15 Andriy

    A ***PROFESSIONAL BLOGER***??? Do you ever get paid? I mean… where are the ads?!
    (I guess my worldview is kindo outdated here…)

    Anyway, you’re pretty beatiful and ‘ve got an awesome voice! ))

  16. @ Andriy – Thankfully this blog is funded by another company. So yes, I do get paid to blog. It’s owned by my two wonderful brothers who’ve been looking at the big picture of the Web for years and years 🙂

  17. What am I doing wrong. In this video you ask “reload the page I guess that means “refresh'” Hit Enter or Spacebar then the control buttons I do all that and simply get the same message “Re-load the Page” What the ….. !



