Get Public Transit Directions On The Go With HopStop (Limited Coverage)

04Apr08

If you use public transportation on a daily basis or if you’re traveling somewhere in the future where public transit will be how you get around, you should definitely check out HopStop. Before you get all excited and start planning your trips, let me point out that it’s only available in New York, New Jersey, Long Island, Boston, Chicago, Washington D.C., and San Francisco (YES!). If you’re not in one of those areas, I apologize but for everyone else, please read on: HopStop allows you to get detailed itineraries using buses, subways, or your own two feet. The best part about HopStop is that you can have the directions sent to your mobile phone so you can view them as you’re traveling. If you create an account you can save frequently used addresses, view previous trips, and have access to HopStop mobile whenever you’re out and need to find out which bus or subway to take to get to your next destination.

I know that Google Transit is out there and it actually covers a lot more than HopStop. It doesn’t, however, cover a lot of major cities that HopStop does cover – including my beloved San Francisco. Since I’m selling my car right now and will be using public transportation a lot in the near future, HopStop is going to be a lifesaver for me. The fact that I can have my itinerary sent to my mobile phone is another huge plus. Here’s my screencast tour of HopStop:

Click Here To Watch The Screencast 3m51s

Want this screencast on your site? Click here to get the code for this and other DemoGirl screencasts!



6 Responses to “Get Public Transit Directions On The Go With HopStop (Limited Coverage)”

  1. 1 Peter

    Google Transit doesn’t cover San Francisco? News to me…

    http://snipurl.com/23iiu

  2. Peter, Google Transit covers BART, VTA, and Caltrain. It doesn’t cover all bus lines and trains like HopStop. If I want to see how to get from my house (in SF) to The Embarcadero, Google Transit says it can’t help me.

  3. 3 Peter

    Gotcha – didn’t realize that.

    I’m thinking that’s probably just because MUNI hasn’t been pressured to make its schedule data available in the transit feed format.

    http://snipurl.com/23ipp [www_sfmta_com]

    http://snipurl.com/23ips [code_google_com]

  4. Can’t wait to see if they come to Charlotte, NC and how they handle it. The maps they hand out are three years out of date without many changes they made when they started doing train service.

  5. 5 Peter

    Looks like Muni is now online.


  1. 1 Need Public Transit Directions ? « PaulSwansen’s Weblog

