Friday Quickcast Special #8

27Jun08

Here are three sites that have absolutely nothing to do with each other, other than the fact that they all require you to type in some text in order to use them.  Happy Friday…

Soungle is a search engine for sound effects.  It’s pretty straightforward – Enter in the sound you want to hear, like a cat yell, and, if available, Soungle will give you a page of sound effects that you can download for free.  I’ve actually been looking for something like this for a while, so expect to hear some of Soungle’s effects in my screencasts in the future.  [via MakeUseOf]

Wordle allows you to make stunning word clouds out of any text you enter into the site or out of a del.icio.us users tags.  You can customize the font, layout, and colors and save it to the Wordle gallery.  Another idea I had was that you could make a word cloud out of a poem, print out the word cloud, and write the poem on the inside like a card.  Cheesy?  Probably.  I turned my word cloud into my desktop background and it looks pretty neat, if I do say so myself.  [via Lifehacker]

Tinypaste gives anyone a simple way to get around Twitter’s 140 character rule by shortening your text.  So, instead of creating a tinyURL to link to your blog post, I suppose you could write out a blog post on tinypaste and create a link that way.  Tinypaste doesn’t specify that its sole purpose is for Twitter so you can use it for anything you like.  The most useful part of tinypaste is the Firefox Extension that allows you to create a link to any text you select on a web page. [via Download Squad]

To see all of these awesome “word related” applications in action, watch the screencast below:

Click Here To Watch The Screencast 4m46s

Want this screencast on your site?  Click here to get the code for this and other DemoGirl screencasts!



One Response to “Friday Quickcast Special #8”

  1. 1 DianaLeroy

    I found the free online library of sounds (www.soungle.com) very useful. I am not a professional sound editor, but as a hobby am always trying to put some sound here and there. Thanks. Best regards.
    Di.



