Twitter May Have Winfrey, But Robo.to Has Timberlake

06May09

Robo.to allows you to create a virtual business card, complete with your own video avatar.  It gives you a place to share your flickr photos, your location, and your other online identities, as well as updates to Twitter and Facebook.

roboto_logo1

After you sign up for an account (which is currently invite only) you’ll be able to pick a username which will act as part of your Robo.to domain.  You can see mine here.  You can then record a couple seconds of video that visitors will see upon arrival to your site.  You can record multiple videos but the last one you record will be the first one that appears.

roboto_1

You can point out your location on a Google map, add your latest flickr photos, and choose to push updates you create on Robo.to through to Twitter and/or Facebook.

roboto_4

I had fun yesterday and today testing out Robo.to – but it is definitely invite only for a reason.  My flickr photos won’t show up.   When I update to Twitter only the text goes through so no one would have any idea what I was talking about since there’s no link to my Robo.to page or video.  There are also some much needed features missing like the ability to delete a video, control which video appears first when someone visits your Robo.to page, and some sort of privacy setting if I don’t want just anyone to be able to see my page.  If these features exist, I could not find them.

If you want to see Justin’s Robo.to page, click here.  It’s cleverly done, and should give you an idea about what type of video you can create to act as your “calling card”.

To see Robo.to in action, click on the screencast below (best viewed in HD in full screen):



3 Responses to “Twitter May Have Winfrey, But Robo.to Has Timberlake”

  1. 1 indasea

    DOMO ARIGATO MR ROBO.TO!!!
    I’m getting mine on!!

  2. 2 Aubrey

    Thanks so much for the review! Sorry about the Flickr weirdness, looks to me like you’ve entered your Flickr name instead of your Flicker ID (the ID is that weird one with the @ symbol in it). It should be fixed for you now and we’ll put in a general catch for this asap.

  3. 3 Puya

    I can’t here any voice from the video.. am I alone with that problem? The reasons could be:

    * You cant add voice to the robo.to
    * They don’t want to talk



