Map Runs and Create an Easy-to-Update Fitness Blog with RunThere

28Aug09

When I first moved to San Francisco I lived just 2 blocks from Golden Gate Park.  I would go running there about 4 or 5 times a week, usually taking one of the same 3 routes that I had discovered (yes, I discovered them, they’re mine).  By the time I got home I would assume that I had gone about 4 miles, but actually, I had no idea.  I did try mapping them out on a Google map once in hopes of figuring out exactly how far I was going, but there really wasn’t much I could do with that info, like track it and share it.  That’s where RunThere comes in.  RunThere allows you to create maps of your running and biking routes and gives you a way to easily send it to your own fitness blog.

runthere_logo

After you sign up, you can start creating maps.  All you need to do is enter in a location, or select one from your saved locations, and then click along your route to add markers.  There are mile markers so you’ll know how far you’ve gone and you can enter in your time so you can track your pace.  Every time you go on one of these runs, you can simply click on “log run/ride” and enter in whether or not your ran or biked it, your time, add notes, set the date and time, and even add how you felt when you did it.  After you save it you’ll see that it’s automatically added to your fitness blog.

runthere_2

runthere_3

You can share your fitness blog URL with others (as long as you make it public in your settings) and add people as friends so you can cheer each other on.  Another nice feature about your fitness blog is that you can log treadmill runs too.  Not everyone is into running outdoors, so that’s a really great option and one that I looked for right away after signing up.  You can also create a profile, view other peoples routes, add comments or notes on routes, and search for routes based on location.

If you’re into group runs or bike rides, there’s an option to create an invitation to send out to your Facebook friends.  You can choose to plan a run, bike, walk, or swim, and even choose to have people bring their dogs along.

runthere_4

The only feature I would really like to see added is a way to log time spent on a stationary bike.  I have one at home and would like the option of adding the miles I put on that to my fitness blog.  They have the treadmill option, so it doesn’t seem like an insane request.

To see RunThere in action, watch the screencast below (best viewed in HD in full screen):



3 Responses to “Map Runs and Create an Easy-to-Update Fitness Blog with RunThere”

  1. Hey Thanks for sharing information about this great site! Awesome!

    Best Regards!

  2. I’ve been using RunningAhead for a few years now. You can map your runs and also keep a log of what you’ve done. You can also choose the type of activity from ‘run, swim or bike’ and keep track of shoes and how many miles they’ve done. http://www.runningahead.com
    I also sometimes use RunKeeper. This is an iPhone app (there is a free version and a paid version) that when I’m running somewhere new, will map my run as I’m running.
    http://www.runkeeper.com
    Cheers, Colin

  3. I've been using RunningAhead for a few years now. You can map your runs and also keep a log of what you've done. You can also choose the type of activity from 'run, swim or bike' and keep track of shoes and how many miles they've done. http://www.runningahead.com
    I also sometimes use RunKeeper. This is an iPhone app (there is a free version and a paid version) that when I'm running somewhere new, will map my run as I'm running.
    http://www.runkeeper.com
    Cheers, Colin;…



