Share your Screenshots in Seconds with TinyGrab

06Oct09

TinyGrab is an application that works with your Mac OS X or Windows screenshot tool to help you quickly share the screenshots you take.

tinygrab_1

After you install TinyGrab simply take a screenshot as you normally would (you can change the hot-keys in your preferences if needed).  TinyGrab will almost instantly copy a short URL to your clipboard which links to your image.  You can share this URL wherever you like – Twitter, IM, email, you name it.  These URL’s will also be stored in your system tray or dock so you can access them again.

tinygrab_3

You also have the option of uploading your own images from your computer and TinyGrab will give you the same short URL to share with others.  TinyGrab works fast.  Really fast.  If you want a way to almost instantly share screenshots with all of your Twitter followers, I highly recommend checking out TinyGrab.  Currently the free version supports 10 free uploads a day but you can upgrade to a premium version for a minimal one time payment.

To see TinyGrab in action, watch the screencast below (best viewed in HD in full screen):



10 Responses to “Share your Screenshots in Seconds with TinyGrab”

  1. 1 Stephen

    This is very helpful, but where is the link to the application. Am I just missing it?

  2. Thanks for the heads up, Stephen. Link has been added!

  3. 3 Davin

    Seems a security risk to me. You’d probably be surprised what people will share on this thing. I was just curious, so I randomly started typing URLs and got one that had some program code in it. Probably not something you want to show the whole world … unless it’s open source. I’m sure if I searched long enough I could find a username and password somewhere. Anyway, like I said seems a bit dodgy to me.

  4. 4 ileaneb

    Another great screencast Molly. Your’s is even better than the one they have on the TinyGrab website. When I take a screenshot the old way I had to go through so many steps that sometimes I forget where I was. Now using TinyGrab the process will be much quicker. And I like that I can grab images from my computer.

    I’m not sure about the comment from Davin about the security issue, because aren’t you able to do the same thing the long way?

    Anyway, this is faster and as always I stay on top of all the newest software by following the DemoGirl site in my WordPress.com Blog Surfer.

    Thanks!
    @ileane

  5. 5 Davin

    I’m, just saying that if you aren’t really thinking about what you are grabbing you could quickly put something out there for the public to easily view. At least with a more manual process there is a bit of time to think about what you are doing. With this process it is just automatically publicly viewable.

  6. Thanks ileaneb! Glad you enjoyed it.

    Davin – People shouldn’t be taking screenshots of private items with a “sharing” tool if they are really concerned with privacy. I think the same rules apply to TinyGrab as with the rest of the Web – be careful of what tools you’re using and where you’re storing sensitive information. If you don’t personally know who’s running the show, then I’d assume nothing is completely “private”. Good observation and advice though, hopefully people will take heed.

  7. As someone who works in IT, it’s tough to protect users from themselves. 😉 Yes, people can share stuff they shouldn’t if they aren’t careful. TinyGrab could add an option to preview the grab BEFORE uploading, that might take care of that. But again, people have to have that option ON. Even if it’s the default, they can get tired of it and turn it off. I once programmed 10 “Are you sure?” questions for deleting something because a user thought two weren’t enough. I was being silly but he actually thought it was great. D’OH!

    As always, great video!! 🙂

  8. 8 Nickos

    demogirl
    not so true. Other sites don’t have URLs so easy to identify. With Tinygrab EVERYONE (litteraly) can change URL and find something…..you know…I tried and I found gmail screenshot, mail, facebook, desktop, personal photos, EVERYTHING.

    TG its amazing but I think they should make more complex URLs.


  1. 1 TinyGrab Makes Sharing Screenshots Simple
  2. 2 TinyGrab Makes Sharing Screenshots Simple [WebWorkerDaily] | BYOHosting.com Blogs

